## Remit and composition of Science and Education Committees (SEC) and Development Committees (DC)

Version 22/10/2021

A. Science and Education Committees (SEC)

Committee	Remit	Co-chairs	Members <sup>1</sup>
SEC-BLS	<ul> <li>BLS guidelines</li> <li>BLS courses</li> <li>BLS science review</li> <li>Community, schools, first aid</li> <li>Liaison with European scientific societies</li> <li>Guidance for lay persons</li> </ul>	- Michael Smyth (Science) - Sander van Goor (Education)	-
SEC-ALS	<ul> <li>ALS &amp; ILS guidelines</li> <li>ALS &amp; ILS courses</li> <li>ALS science review</li> <li>Liaison with European scientific societies</li> <li>Trauma</li> </ul>	<ul><li>Jas Soar (Science)</li><li>Francesc Carmona (Education)</li></ul>	-
SEC-PLS	<ul><li>PLS guidelines</li><li>PLS courses</li><li>PLS science review</li><li>Liaison with European scientific societies</li></ul>	<ul><li>Dominique Biarent (Science)</li><li>Jana Djakow (Education)</li></ul>	-
SEC-NLS	<ul><li>NLS guidelines</li><li>NLS courses</li><li>NLS science review</li><li>Liaison with European scientific societies</li></ul>	<ul><li>Marije Hogeveen (Science)</li><li>John Madar (Education)</li></ul>	-
SEC-IES	<ul> <li>Course development</li> <li>CoSy</li> <li>Course rules</li> <li>Quality control</li> <li>Complaints</li> <li>instructor days – CDD</li> <li>Educator masterclass</li> <li>GIC</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Silvija Hunyadi-Anticevic</li> <li>Patricia Conaghan</li> </ul>	-

<sup>- &</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Appointment of 'other members' (= non-co-chairs) of the Science & Education Committees should be by proposal of the co-chairs or application by ERC members. CVs will be required, and the co-chairs will make recommendations as to the suitability of applicants according to the skills and expertise needed by the committee. Final appointment shall be by the Board. Suggested members for SEC were: past co-chairs, young investigator, educator, Course Director, Kids Save Lives lead, ILCOR TF members, first aid representative

## **B.** Development Committees (DC)

Committee	Remit	Chair	Members
DC-Res	<ul> <li>Coordination of science across the 4 science &amp; education committees</li> <li>common research strategy</li> <li>Research promotion (including educational research)</li> <li>Research-net</li> <li>Summer School</li> <li>Young Investigators</li> <li>Grants</li> <li>Lobbying</li> <li>Research projects.</li> </ul>	- Gavin Perkins	<ul> <li>Michael Smyth</li> <li>Jas Soar</li> <li>Dominique Biarent</li> <li>Marije Hogeveen</li> <li>Representatives from each of the SEC</li> <li>Other members as required<sup>2</sup></li> </ul>
DC-GL	- Coordination of ERC Guidelines and ILCOR activities across the 4 science & education committees.	- Robert Greif	<ul> <li>Michael Smyth</li> <li>Jas Soar</li> <li>Dominique Biarent</li> <li>Marije Hogeveen</li> <li>Representatives from each of the SEC</li> <li>Other members as required²</li> </ul>
DC-Edu	<ul> <li>Coordination of courses and education across the 4 science &amp; education committees</li> <li>Common course strategy</li> <li>Educational science review</li> <li>Resuscitation Academy – Global Alliance</li> </ul>	- Carsten Lott	<ul> <li>Sander van Goor</li> <li>Francesc Carmona</li> <li>John Madar</li> <li>Jana Djakow</li> <li>Silvija Hunyadi-Anticevic</li> <li>Patricia Conaghan</li> <li>Representatives from each of the SEC</li> <li>Other members as required<sup>2 3</sup></li> </ul>

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Appointment of 'other members as required for specific responsibilities' of the Development Committees should be by proposal of the chairs or application by ERC members. CVs will be required, and the chairs will make recommendations as to the suitability of applicants according to the skills and expertise needed by the committee. Final appointment shall be by the Board. The Development Committees may also co-opt additional members on a short-term basis for specific tasks. Such members shall not have a committee vote.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Suggested members: educational representative from each SEC (4), lead for educational personnel development, coordinator for SEC representatives, responsible person for educational science and review, Responsible person for educational strategies (including e-learning)